Delaware Tribe of Indians
Delaware Trust Board Minutes
November 5, 2013
Delaware Community Center
Minutes--- Approved
Respectfully submitted by Verna Crawford, Trust Board Secretary

Chairman Chet Brooks called the November 5, 2013 Trust Board meeting to order at 4:20 p.m.

Mary Watters gave the invocation.

Secretary called roll. Those present were Chairman Chet Brooks, Vice Chair Nicky Michael, Secretary Verna Crawford, Treasurer John Sumpter, Board members Mary Watters, John Sumpter, Joe Brooks and Homer Scott (Homer Scott arrived late).

Chairman Chet Brooks welcomed guests. He invited anyone who would like to address the Board to do so.

Guests, Tribal officials and employees present included Chief Paula Pechonick, Judge Charles Randall, Mary Randall, Judge Rick Barnes, Kristopher Ketchum, Cy Hughes, Mary Watters, Gil Watters, Pat Donnell, Greg Brown, Janifer Brown, Judge John Chapman Young, and Business Manager Curtis Zunigha.

**Larry Joe Brooks** moved to approve the standard agenda. John Sumpter seconded the motion. Motion carried with all in favor.

# Minutes of previous meeting:

**John Sumpter** moved to approve the minutes of September 9, 2013 with corrections. Nicky Michael seconded the motion. **Motion** carried with five yes.

#### **Treasurer's Report**

**Chairman Brooks** addressed the issue of how to handle the distribution of the funds left in the Economic Development Committee account. He pointed out that as of today Economic Development and Land Management committees were replaced with new Elders and Veterans Committees by the adoption of the Revised Trust Document approved in the election held Saturday, November 2, 2013. Joe Brooks commented that the Tribal Operations should pay the tribe the amount allocated by the percentage allowed. Following discussion:

**Verna Crawford** moved for Chairman Brooks, Secretary Verna Crawford and the Trust Board Treasurer (to be appointed) work with CFO Jean Lewis to redistribute the remaining balance in the Economic Development budget between the current committees. The allocations will be made using the percentages approved in the Revised Trust Document approved by the Delaware people in the November 2, 2013 election. Committees with negative balances (Cultural Preservation, Education, and Land Management) will be brought to a zero balance before distribution is completed. Joe Brooks seconded the motion. Motion carried with six yes.

Charles Randall asked if the Re-investment money had been put back into the principal investment account? Jean Lewis explained that the Re-investment percentage is held in an investment account as is the principal and only the interest is used if needed.

John Moore questioned the action of redistributing Economic Development Committee money to the other committees. He stated that there was no provision in the Trust Document to

allow this. He asked if there should be a vote of the people, just the Trust Board members. Chairman Brooks answered that in his opinion the people had approved the Trust Document and that document gives the Trust Board responsibility of managing the funds. All the funds will go to support the committees that deliver services to the Delaware people.

**Verna Crawford** moved to accept the financials pending audit, seconded by Joe Brooks. Motion carried with five yes.

**Chairman Brooks** called the recently elected Board members, Mary Watters, Homer Scott and Joe Brooks, to come forward and be sworn in. He congratulated all of them.

### **Committee Reports:**

# Community Services: Chair Verna Crawford

The Community Services Committee met on October 11, 2013. The Committee met on October 11 instead of October 14 due to several members attending National Congress of American Indians in Tulsa on that date. There were 30 applications for assistance approved, for a total of \$7,561.96. The next meeting will be held on Monday, November 18, 2013 at 1 pm in the Social Services Building conference room.

#### **Cultural Preservation: Chair Chet Brooks**

Meets the third Tuesday of each month starting at 6 p.m. in the Community Center.

## **Education: Chair Nicky Michael**

The Committee regularly meets on the second Monday of each month. The Committee met October 14, 2014. Fifteen applications were approved, four School Supplies, one vo-tech assistance, two Athletic assistance, two Driver's Education, one Scholarship and five Academic Achievement for a total of \$1,226.50

#### **Elder Committee: Chair**

The committee chair and members will be announced at the next Board meeting.

### **Reinvestment: Chair John Sumpter**

Meets quarterly. No report.

#### **Tribal Operations: Chair Joe Brooks**

Meets quarterly. No report.

#### **Veterans Committee: Chair**

The committee chair and members will be announced at the next Board meeting.

Joe Brooks moved to elect officers. John Sumpter seconded the motion. Motion carried.

#### **New Business:**

**Chairman Brooks** appointed Board representatives to the Committees: Community Services Verna Crawford, Cultural Preservation Chet Brooks, Education Nicky Michael, Elders Mary Watters, Reinvestment John Sumpter, Tribal Operations Joe Brooks, and Veterans John Sumpter and Homer Scott. He noted that the Committees would elect their officers at their next Committee meetings.

**Joe Brooks** moved to elect officers. John Sumpter seconded the motion. Motion carried with seven yes.

**Joe Brooks** nominated Nicky Michael as Vice Chairman. Homer Scott seconded the motion. Nicky Michael was elected Vice Chair by acclimation.

**Joe Brooks** nominated Verna Crawford as Secretary. John Sumpter seconded the motion. Verna Crawford was elected Secretary by acclimation.

**Joe Brooks** nominated John Sumpter as Treasurer. Homer Scott seconded the motion. John Sumpter was elected Secretary by acclamation.

**Old Business:** Joe Brooks stated that this Board sponsored a resolution at NCAI to increase disabled veterans mileage rate for medical visits from the current 41.5 cents per mile to the current Federal mileage rate. The Resolution passed unanimously at the conference. He thanked Homer Scott, Curtis Zunigha, John Sumpter and Verna Crawford for their work to get it passed.

**Joe Brooks moved** to adjourn. John Sumpter seconded the motion. Motion carried with five yes.

**Chairman Brooks** declared the meeting adjourned at 5:30 p.m.